Satyam-eva Jayete

January 8, 2009 § 5 Comments

Yes I know, its a pun used lots of times already, but I couldn’t resist 😀 . By now, everybody must know about the gigantic 7000 crore fraud perpetrated by B. Ramalinga Raju, family and cronies. You can read all about it in your friendly neighborhood serious kind of newspaper (or if you prefer, Mumbai Mirror where you get entertaining distorted facts 😛 )  But this post isn’t about that. I have been inspired by B. Ramalinga Raju. Not by the embezzling or fraud, mind you, but by the confession. I have something to confess, and today, I shall confess. The Truth. The Satya-m.

The short story: It was junior college,we had to plot a graph of V vs I, with a resistor thingy. I finished the experiment as instucted and took all the readings. I then presented my report to the lab prof. He took a look at the readings and the graph and commented that I had performed the experiment exceedingly well to get those readings. And he gave me and my lab partner a pat on the back. This is what the graph looked like: the dots represent readings, the actual graph line is normalized.

mygraphs  

The real story: I had fudged the readings. I drew the straight line and manipulated readings accordingly. This is what the actual graph should have looked like:

mygraphs1 

Yes I know. I should have drawn straight lines. But then the graph wouldn’t look corny enough 😀

As it happens, one graph-lie led to another and in wanting to protect my reputation, I fudged almost all the experiment readings in that year of college, just to get that perfect graph. It was like riding a tiger, never knowing when to get off, without being eaten. Most famous of all was the one for the pendulum experiment, which when reverse tabulated revealed that if the readings were true then the earth had the same gravitational pull as that of the moon. Which, by the way, for those not from a science background, is an absurd statement to make 😛

With this, my soul is now free of the burden it has been carrying since college. If only I could say the same for B. R. Raju.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Satyam-eva Jayete

  • Purnima says:

    hahahahahaa… now let me make my confession of “fixed” practical. R’ber in school we had reflection of light using mirror n pins?? where u r supposed to look into the mirror and place pins accordingly?? hehehe, I nicely used protractor, measured angles on both the sides and drew very light lines and placed the pins on the line….. teacher never came to know. Luckily, I dint get that exp for finals. 😀

  • Robin says:

    “It was like riding a tiger, never knowing when to get off, without being eaten. ” – You did get off, without being eaten. Lets hope you come out of ACS alive too.

  • Hahahaha.. that graph was perfect. Imean the curved lines waala 😀

  • Mithun says:

    @purnima: yes, i remember that one too…i believe that i proved that laws of reflection don’t hold for the pins i was conducting the experiment on 😛 and all I got was C for my effort…tch tch

    @Robin: ACS is teh equivalent of playing with fire. And I have been burnt 😀

    @alice: I like it too, unfortunately i was bewafa to it 😦

  • B says:

    Wow..this really brought baack memories
    One of my frens was so good at fudging numbers for practicals..her logic was if I can manipulate it whats the harm..doesnt hurt anyone does it??
    There were many such experiments that ppl faked the numbers..good times

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Satyam-eva Jayete at Mithun's Memoirs.

meta

